Friday 26th October 2018

Maintenance: Performance improvements for Cloud Block Storage, scheduled 2 months ago

We need to make some configuration changes to our block storage cluster to improve performance. Unfortunately the changes requires all I/O to be stopped for a short duration. We will therefore shutdown all servers running on Block storage and will start them about 10 minutes later again. A downtime of about 15 to 20 minutes is expected (5 min shutdown + 5 min maintenance + 5 min booting).

The maintenance will start on Sunday, 28 October, 2018 at 22:20 (UTC), 00:20 (GMT+2). We expect that at this time less users are trying to access the servers due to the weekend and the time. Additionally, at this time we can still ensure that we are able to respond to incidents promptly.

Note that the maintenance is not affected by the change to winter time. The change to winter time is scheduled at 01:00 (UTC), 03:00 (GMT+2) and the maintenance should be completed at this time.